What is JEE Advanced?

JEE Advanced is the entrance exam conducted to facilitate admissions in IITs and a few other colleges. JEE Advanced is the second entrance exam after JEE Main for students who are willing to seek admission in IITs. The difficulty level of JEE Advanced is obviously higher as compared to JEE Main as it is the second stage of Joint Entrance Examination. Candidates will be tested not only their knowledge of fundamental concepts but their applications as well.

Conducting Body

JEE Advanced is conducted by the seven Zonal Coordinating IITs under the guidance of the Joint Admission Board (JAB). The seven IITs are IIT Kharagpur, IIT Kanpur, IIT Madras, IIT Delhi, IIT Bombay, IIT Guwahati and IIT Roorkee.

Exam Pattern

The questions will be 3 type-Multiple Choice Questions, Numerical Aptitude Type and Match the cases. Negative marks may be awarded for marking the incorrect answer.

Languages Of Exam

Candidates can opt for Question Paper in either of the following languages English and Hindi.

Eligibility Criteria

As per the JEE Advanced Eligibility Criteria, only the Top qualified (including all categories) candidates of Mains Exam will be eligible to appear in the JEE Advanced Exam.

Knowledge / Skills Tested

Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry

Exam Duration

3 hours (180 minutes)

Type Of Exam

AIIMS exam is conducted only in the online mode. It means it is a computer-based test.

Number Of Times Exam Conducted

Once a year

Number Of Times Exam Conducted

Once a year. The candidate can appear in JEE Advanced for two consecutive years only (Two Attempts).